So you want to be healthy….

I would say that the large majority of pre-professional students and student doctors are concerned about their physical health/fitness. So hopefully, this blog isn’t too off topic.

During the semester we are loaded down with classes, homework, study sessions, and just STRESS in general. Do we really have time to add in a workout routine or prep healthy meals? The short answer is yes.

Your health is an investmentNot an expense.png

Think of it this way….working out releases endorphins, endorphins make you happy and energized. This means you will be more awake and attentive for your lecture, study sesh, etc. Not to mention, if you give your brain the nutrients it wants it will give you the function YOU want!

Just so we are clear before we get started…I am NOT fit, I am NOT a nutritionist, and I am NOT qualified to tell you anything more about fitness than my experience.

STEP 1: EAT

You have no time, but you have to make time to eat right? So making small changes to your diet isn’t really going to take away that much time from your physio studying….Study at the kitchen table while everything is cooking! If anything, prepping for the week will save you time in the long run (no standing in long lines or fighting with the vending machine). Here are some fast, easy preps I like to do:

Taco bowls: 1/2 cup brown rice, 1/2 cup black beans, chicken, salsa. Done.

You can boil all the rice you need while the chicken is in the oven or the crock pot. Then measure out these portions into your containers, throw them in the fridge.

Energy Bites: These are my GO TO breakfast, snack, healthy sweet. I have linked to the recipe on “Bless this mess” so you can see the different versions. They are so good!

Kale Salad: This one is a salad, so feel free to put whatever you want in it. But I usually cram slice strawberries, kale, and blue cheese (or goat cheese) crumbles in my container and take a baggie with shredded chicken so I can heat it up separately. I also use poppy seed dressing..yum

Boiled Eggs:  You can have these boiling on a separate burner of yours stove while your brown rice is boiling for your taco bowls. These are a quick anytime snack or breakfast. Good source of protein.

Protein Shake: So I really like the vanilla chai protein from Fitmiss. I usually put one of those wine bags to keep wine chilled in the freezer over night then put a shaker bottle with almond milk in it the next day. I just take my protein powder in a plastic baggie and pour it in when I am ready.

Chicken and Broccoli:  Ok, this one is boring but also an easy prep. I buy the frozen broccoli florets from Kroger, heat them up and through about a cup of them in my container with chicken I made in the crockpot (frozen chicken in crock pot on high for about 4 hours with some random seasonings thrown in). Sometimes when I am tired of this meal (I eat it a lot) I will drizzle bbq on top of it.

Smoothies:   Need to get some greens in your system fast…smoothies are the way to go. There are a million recipes on Pinterest that you can play with. One of my favorites at the moment is just throwing in a half of a banana, about a cup or so of kale or spinach, frozen fruits of your choice and some almond milk. Simple.

Step 2: Get Active

I recently got married and I was forcing myself in the gym for about an hour and a half at least 5xs a week. I have a really awesome friend that would come up with workouts for us and we would do a mix of cardio and lifting and let me tell you…it worked! However, that isn’t very realistic during finals week and I quickly dropped the habit. Try to start simple. Can you make it three days a week for 30-45mins a day? If you are honest with yourself, you probably can. Schedule it in. My plan for the upcoming school year is to go to the gym on Saturday, Sunday, and Mondays for lifting and then do light cardio such as walking my dogs or a jog around the neighborhood & yoga when I get the chance on the other days. You do not have to get caught up in the “I DONT HAVE TWO HOURS FOR THE GYM, I BARELY HAVE TIME TO WASH MY HAIR” excuse. Just get active. Take the stairs. Relax.

Try to start simple. Can you make it three days a week for 30-45mins a day? If you are honest with yourself, you probably can. Schedule it in. My plan for the upcoming school year is to go to the gym on Saturday, Sunday, and Mondays for lifting and then do light cardio such as walking my dogs or a jog around the neighborhood & yoga when I get the chance on the other days. You do not have to get caught up in the “I DONT HAVE TWO HOURS FOR THE GYM, I BARELY HAVE TIME TO WASH MY HAIR” excuse. Just get active. Take the stairs. Relax.

I follow a lot of fitness bloggers for inspiration, I have listed some of my favs:

Katy Hearn

Whitney Simmons

Anna Victoria

Suzie B

all of these girls sell really awesome plans if you are interested.

Step 3: Don’t Give Up

I am writing this blog in the summer because I think NOW is a great time to get started, get into a routine, make a plan (it can be adjusted if need be) but once you get into fitness and start to feel the benefits both mentally and physically you won’t want to stop!

You should start each month with a set of goals (specific to selfcare). Today, I am sharing mine and would LOVE for you to tell me yours. Join me in some of my goals, tag me in your insta posts, etc.

Speaking of joining me, Anna Victoria is currently offering a free #jumpstartjune challenge! It’s only 10 mins a day… we have 10 mins a day!

2017.png

Smile,

Andrea

2 thoughts on “So you want to be healthy….

    1. Thank you! They absolutely are!! There is a place that sells them on campus but they are like 4.00 for only 2 regular sized balls, and the line is always too long! I was so so happy to find your recipie!! Im addicted!

      Like

Leave a Reply

